TRAVEL NEWS — Close to earning the next tier level for SkyMiles Medallian® Status? Good news: Delta is offering a way to pay for the next tier for the 2020 year. The “Elevate Your Status” program allows frequent flyers to purchase a bundle of Medallion Qualification Miles (MQMs), segments (MQSs), or dollars (MQDs) to reach the next level.

Let’s go over the details.

Eligibility Requirements

If you are a Platinum, Gold or Silver Medallion Member, you are eligible for Elevate Your Status unless you received complimentary Status for a Tier above the Tier you earned Status for.

If you are a General SkyMiles Member, you must be within range to reach Silver Medallion Status by purchasing the maximum bundle of MQMs, MQSs and MQDs, in order to be eligible.

If you are a Diamond Medallion Member, you are not eligible, because you have already reached the top Tier of Medallion Status.

Delta Airlines

How it works

  1. Check your balance.
    • Go to your SkyMiles account page via website or app and locate the tracker to see how many MQMs, MQSs, or MQDs you need to reach the next tier level.
  2. Select a qualification bundle.
    • Select the type of bundle that works best for your situation.
  3. Complete your purchase
    • Pay for your selected bundle. The dollar amount you spend on MQMs and MQSs will then be credited to your 2019 MQDs balance and will apply towards your 2020 Status.

Additional Information

Any MQMs purchased that exceed the amount needed to achieve Medallion Status for 2020 will roll over and count towards your 2021 Status.

MQMs, MQSs and MQDs will post to your SkyMiles account within 24 hours of purchase.

Keep in mind: MQMs, MQSs and MQDs purchased through this offer are non-refundable.

Delta Airlines

For more complete details follow this link.

Are there less expensive ways to earn status? Absolutely. However, if time and convenience are more important than this may be a good option for you.

Keep up-to-date on business travel news by following us on LinkedIn.